The Workers Rosary or Peace Chaplet originates from Yugoslavia, now Croatia, and has been a tradition for over 100 years.  Its had a rapid return to popularity in the early eighties as the chaplet of Medjugorje.

The peace chaplet can be a wonderful addition to your prayer life and, as its name suggests, can be recited in your working day.  The rosary consists of 21 beads, arranged in seven groups of three beads, and a pendant.  You begin by praying the Creed, on the first bead (or medal), then pray one Our Father, one Hail Mary and one Glory Be on each of the 3 beads respectively.

The seven sections are hugely significant as it is the number of completeness and perfection in the Bible, both physical and spiritual. Seven derives much of its meaning from being tied directly to God’s creation of all things. The word ‘created’ is used 7 times describing God’s creative work (Genesis 1:1, 21, 27 three times; 2:3; 2:4). There are 7 days in a week and God’s Sabbath is on the 7th day. The Bible, as a whole, was originally divided into 7 major divisions. They are 1) the Law; 2) the Prophets; 3) the Writings, or Psalms; 4) the Gospels and Acts; 5) the General Epistles; 6) the Epistles of Paul; and 7) the book of Revelation. The total number of inspired books was forty-nine, or 7 x 7, demonstrating the absolute perfection of the Word of God. I could go one but I think you get the picture.

While praying meditate on the issues of world peace, pray for our governmental leadership, pray for understanding, pray for family and friends involved in conflicts or any other matters that touch your heart related to world peace.

It is said that if the ‘Worker’s Rosary’ is prayed from the heart the Blessed Mother will never refuse to hear your petition.

The Workers Rosary or Peace Chaplet

Begin the chaplet on the First Bead or Medal by praying the Creed

The Creed

We believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty,
Maker of all that is, seen and unseen.
We believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ, the only Son of God,
eternally begotten of the Father,
God from God, Light from Light,
true God from true God,
begotten, not made, consubstantial with the Father.
Through him all things were made.
For us men and for our salvation he came down from heaven,
and by the Holy Spirit was incarnate of the Virgin Mary, and became man.
For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate;
he suffered death and was buried.
On the third day he rose again in accordance with the Scriptures;
he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead,
and his kingdom will have no end.
We believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life,
who proceeds from the Father and the Son.
With the Father and the Son he is worshiped and glorified.
He has spoken through the Prophets.
We believe in one holy catholic and apostolic Church.
We acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.
We look for the resurrection of the dead,
and the life of the world to come.


Each set of three beads (seven sets in total) are prayed in this manner

Our Father

Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy name;
Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.


Hail Mary

Hail Mary full of Grace, the Lord is with thee.
Blessed are thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb Jesus.
Holy Mary Mother of God, pray for us sinners now
and at the hour of our death


Glory Be

Glory be to the Father,
and to the Son,
and to the Holy Spirit:
As it was in the beginning,
is now, and ever shall be,
world without end.